Our testimony about Almighty God in Galilee of Israel

Introduction

The following testimony about God is based on what happened to us during our visit to Israel in 2015 December during Christmas.

Born Again

General human nature yearns to obtain good fortune for wealth, dignity and long life, through different supernatural religious beliefs or superstition. We did not have any specific religion; we were an ordinary people and only wished for fortune to help to climb up the career ladder and improve the future life. However by the end of 2015, something happened that totally changed the religious belief of me and my wife, Liza. My life was bought back from an abyss of darkness to brightness, and my wife had a fantastic experience of recognition with a Singaporean couple on my birthday, December 24 in 2015.

Doubt about Holy God’s grace

The story started in mid-August in 2015. Few weeks before Liza and I were to go on an Italian tour, I suddenly came down with fever and cough, and was hospitalized four days in Hong Kong. My body weight continually dropped and my face looked pale, and I certainly could not eat solid food according to doctor’s advice. However, it was hard for me to cancel the trip; I had already paid the tour fare and could not get any refund. I had great desire to go even knowing the potential health problem in my body, so we started our journey. One day in Italy, we visited a Catholic Church where I saw the portraits of Madonna (Italian: St. Mary, mother of Jesus) and the crucified Jesus Christ. I did not care about religious belief, but as they are God, I immediately prayed and appealed for salvation. Unbelievably and amazingly, my body gradually felt comfortable; I even started to eat solid food like fish during meals. Luckily, I fully enjoyed the eleven-day tour and returned home without any minor health problem. Though I started trial to pray in Church, I still did not fully believe this was mercy of God; it might just be my luck.

Like being entangled with the Devil

My luck during the Italian tour gave me confidence that my health should not pose any problem for another trip in December. Liza and I planned to visit Israel and Jordan to celebrate Christmas and my birthday. Based on my experience in August, I did a preliminary medical health check before settling the final tour payment. We arrived in Israel’s Tel Aviv airport in the morning of 12/20/2015 and the tour immediately started.

sdfsdfsd

Caesarea, Israel. Photo taken by Andrew.

21936f8b-d2c8-4929-9524-c1c74df5a5c0

Basilica of the Annunciation in Nazareth, Israel. Photo taken by Andrew.

My health was good without any strangeness. We had a lot of fun, but it only lasted until we visited an ancient castle basement, which only had a glimmer of light. Back on the bus to continue the journey, I started to feel tired and even lost focus while walking up a slope to visit a church in the evening; my brain seemed to be going under the control of something. Arriving at our hotel near Galilee Sea, my body was continually shaking; the symptoms were different from my health problems in August.  I hoped it was just tiredness. I gave up dinner and returned to our room for rest. The next day, I still felt bad and my body was shaking while I was getting ready to have breakfast. Liza and I stayed in the hotel to rest more, hoped my body could be recovered to join the tour again. Unfortunately, on 12/22/2015, my condition didn’t improve and even got worse. After discussing with the tour guide, the tour Company called its local agent guide to take care of us and send me to a nearby hospital. After an initial body check, doctor immediately sent me to the ICU ward and did a medicine injection to calm me down. In the late evening, one tube was inserted through nose for feeding, one went to my lung through mouth to assist breathing and other medicine tubes were injected into my forearms. My body completely fell in coma.

Surrounded by an Invisible Power

I never felt I was in coma. I was lonely inside a dark place. I could not see my wife Liza anywhere, I worried she did not know about my situation. I loudly yelled “Liza” in hopes of finding her. I did not see any person, but I felt I was being monitored by an Invisible Power sound like a ghost, I heard a special male voice surrounding me. I ran to different directions trying to find an exit door. The sound warned me not to escape otherwise I would get a harsh punishment. I was very scared and deaf, and just ran for my life to find my wife. The warning sound became louder and louder, and eventually the Invisible Power captured me and pulled me in to a room only having a glimmer of light, and the Invisible Power put me in a chair and warned me again to wait there without trying to escape. I felt the Invisible Power was monitoring me even though I could not see him. I was still trembling and shouted for my wife; I felt I was jailed in a prison. I felt hopeless and I did not know how much time I spent there. One day, while I felt too tired to struggle, the Invisible Power brought me to another brighter room, where I felt comfortable and my fear lessened. As well, I did not know the reason, but the Invisible Power became softer too, and he just asked me nicely to wait in this room. It just happened once there, where I had a very short vision of seeing my wife came to hold my right hand and sang songs to me with tears on her face. I saw her coat was blue-colored, then this vision disappeared.  I was eventually led to a place outdoors like a garage, and was instructed to sit down in front of a blue door. The Invisible Power asked me to wait there saying that I would be able to go back to Hong Kong with my wife Liza soon. I did not know how long I waited, but I felt the Invisible Power had left me.

I woke up 6 days after I first went into coma on 12/28/2015 and was very curious where I was. Tubes were still inserted into body through nose and mouth, thus my mouth was pressed that disabled me to talk. I waved my hand to get the nurses’ attention, but I could not create proper understanding. I was nervously waiting on bed to see my wife, a minute waiting was very long to me. Liza finally came, she rushed to hold my right hand, smiling with tears down from her eyes; she put on ICU ward’s blue-colored patient-visit gown exactly same as I had seen inside my dream. After the tube was removed from my mouth 3 days later. I shared my coma dream with Liza, and she told me her unexpected experiences on 12/24/2015. At that moment, I still had serious doubt about the Invisible Power:  where he was from, who he was and why he saved me. 

Love and Mercy against dread- encountered with a Singaporean couple

After I entered the ICU ward on 12/22/2015, Liza was convulsed with fear and did not know what she should do; she did not know anyone in Israel and the tour group had gone far away. Luckily the local Israel guide was very kind to her; he helped her to arrange accommodation, transportation to and from hospital by taxi, and a SIM card for local calls. After returning to hotel in late evening, she forced herself to sleep trying to escape from any unexpected phone call. When Liza returned to the hospital the next day, she was stunned to see me in coma with tubes inserted to my body. She was sad with tears bursting out from her eyes. The nurse knew that she really worried about what happened last night, so they explained to her why, what and how I could recover. On 12/24/2015, my birthday, Liza went down to the hotel breakfast room to eat something, just trying to fill up her stomach before going to the hospital,  to see me two times a day at 12:00-13:00 noon and 18:00-19:00 evening. She did not have any appetite, looked sad and worried with tears in her eyes. The hotel manager saw her at the entrance and came to console her. Her tears rolled down uncontrollably. In the meantime, there was a Singaporean couple sitting in another table pretty far away from Liza. Actually, Liza already saw them when she entered the restaurant. After a while, the couple came over to chat with Liza and realized that I was in hospital, which was the same place they would go to visit on same day.  They accompanied Liza to the ICU ward to visit me.

Pray to God for my salvation- God’s purpose for the Singaporean couple’s visit

Even though I had been injected tranquillizer, my hands and feet were still moving up and down like I was trying to escape from something horrible when they saw me, and I was sweating a lot and looked worse then the day before ; after that day, the doctor tied my hands to prevent me from pulling out those tubes. The Singaporean couple immediately blessed me and prayed to God, asking God to give me mercy and salvation to bring me back from the abyss of darkness. It was amazing that my body immediately calmed down a little bit. After that, the couple visited the surgeons, ICU doctors and nurses whom they met two years ago. Then they met Liza again for a second visit to my room in the evening. During the six hours of waiting, the Singaporean couple told Liza about their purpose to come to Israel again.

The Singaporean Couple, husband Jason and wife Christina, are Christian. They were very surprised to see things happening to us similar to their case two years ago in 2013, in terms of time, place and people.

The visit in 2015 was their third trip to Israel together with their church group.  The main purpose of the visit was to come to show their gratitude to ICU ward doctors, surgeons and nurses, who took care of Jason during their second Israel visit two years ago in 2013.

In 2013, after they had also visited Italy in mid-October, they came to visit Israel in mid-December for a pre-celebration of Jesus Christ’s birthday. Unfortunately, like me, Jason suddenly came down with a severe virus infection in a major organ, just a day after arriving in Israel on 12/15/2013. It would possibly spread out causing multi-organs failure in his body. Jason was immediately sent to the same hospital and ICU ward that I was in, and was taken care by same doctor who took care of me too. The doctor decided to conduct urgent surgery to remove dead skin and revive the infected organ to normal. Then, Jason convalesced in the ICU ward for 12 days and returned to Singapore on 12/27/2013 for a second surgery.

They certainly believed that we were repeating their case in 2013. They thought their current (third) visit was actually God’s arrangement, to come to pray and lead us away from the demon; it was their gratitude to repay God’s grace and mercy (in the same place, around same Christmas time, under the same doctor’s care) given to them two years ago. 

Incessant Blessing and Love from Holy God

Jason and Christina told Liza to feel relieved that God was with us and I would recover without any further serious problem. They accompanied Liza back to the hotel and introduced Liza to the church members. They led Liza in a prayer to God and they continually prayed for us on their journey. On the next day, the Singaporean couple and their church team left Galilee to visit other places that the couple had missed seeing two years ago. As well, Liza got support and prayer from her family in Canada; her eldest brother and mother are Christian too. Her brother sent her Bible Scriptures to pray to God every morning, and he also asked his prayer team to pray to God for us. Her non-religious elder sister in Canada often made consoling call to comfort Liza. Since then, Liza felt more serene without fear, and confidently reacted to difficulties. Her strong perseverance in Israel had never been seen. She communicated and worked with people in every place, such as the hospital and insurance company, alone by herself without relying on help, saving me from any potential problems. I stayed in the ICU ward from 12/22/2015 to 1/2/2016 and was moved to a general ward, then moved back to Hong Kong on 1/12/2016 for another 10-days’ hospitalization and surgery, like Jason did two years ago.

Trust and Belief in Holy God with gratitude in heart

Based on my experience with Invisible Power in coma dream, love and mercy from God to Liza, and the encounter with Singaporean couple who had had similar case in 2013, I surely could not deny God’s grace and mercy being given to Liza and me. However, I still had a strange feeling about why I could not see God with me in the coma dream, and where the Invisible Power came from. After I joined the Methodist Church in Hong Kong and studied the Bible, I understood that God is Trinity of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Then I fully understood that God sent the Holy Spirit to guide me back from the abyss of darkness to brightness. Liza and I are deep in gratitude to God. We were baptized in the Methodist Church Hong Kong on 12/25/2016 to become disciples of God Forever.

Establishment of true friendship- Bestowed Birthday Present from Holy God

17fc5dad-07e6-4d4b-850a-5c7bb7842a30

Photo taken in The Methodist HK Church 3/12/2017. Left to Right: Christina, Jason, Liza, Andrew.

The Singaporean couple, Christina and Jason, have become our good friends and we often communicate through WhatsApp; we finally met together again on March 12, 2017 in Hong Kong. They led us how to believe, understand and follow God. They are still amazed with how God led us to meet each other even though we live apart in different countries; it is because we all are God’s children in the Kingdom of God. Three things on earth that can last for eternity and receive God’s reward are 1) Worship and Praise and Prayer to God; 2) Words of God (read the Bible); 3) Witness for God (to share the gospel of salvation in others).

Experience sharing to proclaim Holy God’s Glory

We, Liza and Andrew Mak, wsdfdsdfsdfould like to share our testimony about Holy God with all people, living in any different places in the world. We believe that God’s love and eternal life is only bestowed to people who have faithful belief in God. We earnestly wish this testimony can be spread out by readers (from friends to friends….) to wildly proclaim God’s Glory and Grace.

Psalms 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Isaiah 41:10 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

Psalms 23:2-4 He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

                     Dear God, You are glorious and omnipotent Lord of Liza and me.

While I was in coma, You were with me; Holy Spirit led me back to brightness from abyss of darkness. Your graciousness jubilated Liza and I away from worry and panic to serenity. God, Your grace and mercy is always in our heart, we trust and follow you forever,

                                            in Jesus name we pray. Amen.

                                                       ———- END———-

Written by: Liza & Andrew Mak

Confirmed by: Christina & Jason Tan

Completion Date: March 18, 2017.

Email: mcandrew3889@gmail.com

Cover photo: Galilee Sea with Rainbow, Israel.  Photo taken by Liza.  

Leave a Reply

